Minimalism: A Documentary About the Important Things in Life (2015)

Title: Minimalism: A Documentary About the Important Things in Life
mv5bmtkwnzu1oteznv5bml5banbnxkftztgwody5nza3nte-_v1_ux182_cr00182268_al_Year: 2015
Director: Matt D’Avella
Genre: Documentary
Date Watched: January 28, 2017
Category: #6 Documentary

I’ve had this one in my Netflix list for a little while now. It’s an interesting notion for someone like me who often has grown up surrounded by things, I’ve certainly always had more than I’ve needed and I’m not one to throw things out ‘in case I need them again later’. I’ve kept books I didn’t enjoy and know I’ll never read, clothes that don’t fit, shoes that are uncomfortable and match nothing I own, school books from reception right through university. I don’t need or use most of them so why not get rid of them and make space for the things I do want and use?

For those of you who haven’t heard about it yet, the idea of Minimalism is that you clear all the clutter from your life, that is things you don’t use and the ones that don’t bring you joy. What’s important to one person won’t be important to others, but that’s totally fine according to the Minimalists Joshua Fields Millburn and Ryan Nicodemus.

There’s people all over the world embracing the idea that less is more, quality over quantity, people who have chosen to move into smaller homes using all their space as efficiently as possible, all of their things easily fitting into these small areas. Now, I could never see myself moving to that type of extreme as someone who currently has hundreds of books and DVD’s which I enjoy and for the most part could not see myself parting with. That doesn’t mean that there’s not things that I don’t have much use for (I mean, how many broken laptops does one person need to hold on to?).

Perhaps the most eye opening aspect of the documentary for me was a study which explored the ways that people in America were using their homes. That is to say, the majority of the activity was occurring in a very small potion of the space available, entire rooms going completely unused and ignored. The study explored this in terms of the environmental impact of maintaining a larger house and the impact on urban sprawl costing more resources to travel to and from places and so on.

While there are many reasons explored in the documentary that one might want to adopt a minimalist approach to life, however, what attracted the minimalists was that of happiness. I won’t expand on that one since they can explain it far better than I can, suffice to say that having more things does not always mean one is happier.

If your house feels too cluttered, or you’re always searching for the thing you want amongst things you had forgotten you even owned or haven’t used in years then take a look at this documentary (Available on Netflix) and you might be pleasantly surprised by tidying things up a bit.

Rating: 3.5/5

 

 

Leave a Reply

