La La Land (2016)

Title: La La Landla_la_land_film
Year: 2016
Director: Damien Chazelle
Genre: Drama/Romance/Musical
Date Watched: February 14, 2017
Category: A film in the cinema

I’ve been pretty excited about this one for a while. Ever since I heard that Emma Stone was teaming up with Ryan Gosling again (I’m a huge fan of Crazy, Stupid Love). So finally as a Valentine’s Day outing I managed to get my fiancee to come along with me.

I had really high hopes for this film and was the tiniest bit disappointed, but I think that was more a result of how different it is from Crazy, Stupid Love and also how many awards it has won. Let me be clear though. I really loved this movie. The use of sound in particular was just beautiful and so perfectly on point, almost as if it were a character itself. It truly feels like a movie that would have been at home several decades ago if it wasn’t for the use of mobile phones. Somehow they’ve perfectly blended clothes and sets that look like they belong in the past but at the same time don’t look out of place in a movie set in the 2010’s.

My only criticism of this film is also somewhat of a merit. There were parts of the film where the tension was just so palpable that it was uncomfortable to watch. I could feel everything they were feeling as if it were happening to me. Which is surely the mark of a great film, but at the same time an uncomfortable experience particularly when those emotions are anger or sadness. It felt like watching my parents fight, always a little awkward to say the least.

I left the cinema feeling like something had changed but not sure what it was. It was like I’d walked out of a dream.

I won’t spoil it for those who haven’t seen it but the ending of this movie was just, completely amazing.

Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

