Ghostbusters (2016)

Title: Ghostbustersghostbusters-1
Year: 2016
Director: Paul Feig
Genre: Science Fiction/Action
Date Watched: February 24, 2017
Category: A remake

I’ll be honest… I saw the original Ghostbusters once… and it didn’t really make an impression on me. However, I do like Melissa McCarthy so I was all for seeing this one. Plus, a remake with a gender swapped cast? That sounded amazing.

I can’t comment on how true to the original film this is but I can say I enjoyed it. The characters were great, 4 women all with very strong personalities and the dopiest male receptionist known to man? Amazing. The 4 ghostbusters are Erin (the serious one), Abby (the believer), Holtzmann (the inventor) and Patty (the street-smart one). As much as a I loved the other characters it was Holtzmann who stole the show for me. Untraditional in all the best ways and always getting into trouble somehow. The film even included various cameos from Bill Murray to Sigourney Weaver for those who enjoy that kind of thing.

The storyline itself was fairly simplistic but interesting to watch just the same and the special effects were obviously an update on those in the original films.

I can’t see myself watching this one again and it’s not going to make it on to my favourites list anytime soon but I really did enjoy the it and if they were to do a second film focussing on Holtzmann I would be right there to see it.

Rating: 3/5

Leave a Reply

