Love and Misadventure – Lang Leav + The Collected Poems of Sylvia Plath

Title: Love & Misadventure61mwald8azl
Author: Lang Leav
Genre: Poetry
Pages: 168
Category: 47. Read a collection of poetry
Format: Paper

Date Started: April 28th 2017
Date Finished: April 28th 2017

A two for the price of one today. First up we have a beautiful little collection of poems which I have wanted to read for some time, ever since I saw a couple of poems on tumblr.

I don’t think a series of poems has ever been so true to my own feelings in all my life. Almost every one I read hit on something that I could identify with. They’re short sweet and to the point. I’m not usually a huge connoisseur of poems so there may be a term for this type of poem but I don’t know it (if you do feel free to share in the comments). Basically, these poems say exactly what they mean, while a lot is left to the imagination everything is about feelings rather than imagery. This is the type of poem I prefer to read.

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

 


 

Title: The Collected Poems 41f6qyd4igl-_sx329_bo1204203200_
Author: Sylvia Plath (Edited by Ted Hughes)
Genre: Poetry
Pages: 351
Category: 47. Read a collection of poetry
Format: Paper

Date Started: March 6th 2017
Date Finished: April 30th 2017

I’m not sure what I expected picking up this collection but it wasn’t quite what I got. I think, knowing a little about Sylvia Plath’s history and having read and loved the Bell Jar several years ago I expected something similar only to find out that these poems are much more focussed on imagery and frankly a lot less interesting.

If this is the style of writing that you enjoy then that’s great, and maybe if I wanted to take the time to analyse these poems it might be a different story, but the anthology includes over 200 poems many of which could probably have been left out. That being said there are some beautiful lines in the collection, perhaps though, this would be better published as a selection of poems rather than the collected poems. A shorter selection may be able to have a greater impact on the reader.

Rating: 2/5 stars

Leave a Reply

