A Dream of Ice – Gillian Anderson

a-dream-of-ice-9781471137747_hrTitle: A Dream of Ice (Earthend Saga #2)
Author: Gillian Anderson
Genre: Mystery/Paranormal
Pages: 279
Category: 12. Read a book with a contemporary setting
Format: Paper

Date Started: January 22nd 2017
Date Finished: January 27th 2017

Having enjoyed the first book in this series so much I was somewhat disappointed by the second one. I still enjoyed it but not with he ‘couldn’t put it down’ excitement that I experienced with A Vision of Fire.

What has become clear throughout the books is the very unusual and complex spirituality that Anderson builds on, based at least somewhat on her own personal beliefs. In the first book the main character Dr. Caitlin O’Hara goes through a learning process that involving a vodou priestess and an Iranian priest. She comes to realise that there is something after death, and that the dead are in fact communicating with the living. This is the theme that continues throughout the second book.

A Dream of Ice focuses less on Dr. O’Hara and more on the Explorer’s Club introduced in book 1. The narrative spans from The Explorer’s Club where Flora Davies conducts her work to a remote ice shelf in Antarctica where Mikel discovers the remains of the ancient Galderkhaan civilisation.

Gillian Anderson is certainly not the first to suggest that there may have once been a civilization in Antarctica. In Stargate it was an outpost originally believed to be Atlantis, and within recent weeks it has been the discovery of a dome like shape on the continent that has renewed discussions. Perhaps Galderkhaan is less fiction than it appears to be at first.

If you happen to have picked up the initial book and enjoyed it then I would certainly recommend picking this one up too, with the caveat that many of the themes explored are similar to that of the first book.

Rating: 3/5 stars